Why Are These People Crying?

Do you read Consumer Reports to find out which vitamins cause you harm, which olive oils smell fragrant, or which blenders crush ice the best? Do you read labels to see if food contains high doses of sugar or saturated fat? Do you inspect fruit carefully to make sure it’s fresh? Most people consider themselves scrupulous consumers yet many of them overlook the most important discernment in their daily eating decisions: compassion. Before you eat again and every time you eat from this day forward, you should weigh heavily the stories of the people who spend time with the animals you eat.

In Slaughterhouse: The Shocking Story of Greed, Neglect, and Inhumane Treatment Inside the U.S. Meat Industry, Gail Eisnitz exposes readers to the testimony of the slaughterhouse workers who prepare your food. Below is a sampling of their experiences, in their own words. Above each story, you will see the faces of people in Miami, Florida who recently stopped to watched this video of what happens to animals inside factory farms.

“I could tell you horror stories… about cattle getting their heads stuck under the gate guards and the only way you can get it out is to cut their heads off while they’re still alive.”

“One time I took my knife – it’s sharp enough – and I sliced off the end of a hog’s nose, just like a piece of bologna. The hog went crazy for a few seconds. Then it just sat there looking kind of stupid. So I took a handful of salt brine and ground it into his nose. Now that hog really went nuts, pushing its nose all over the place. I still had a bunch of salt in my hand – I was wearing a rubber glove – and I stuck the salt right up the hog’s ass. The poor hog didn’t know whether to shit or go blind.”

“I’ve seen live animals shackled, hoisted, stuck, and skinned. Too many to count, too many to remember. It’s just a process that’s continually there. I’ve seen shackled beef looking around before they’ve been stuck. I’ve seen hogs [that are supposed to be lying down] on the bleeding conveyor get up after they’ve been stuck. I’ve seen hogs in the scalding tub trying to swim.”

“These hogs get up to the scalding tank, hit the water and start screaming and kicking. Sometimes they thrash so much they kick water out of the tank… Sooner or later they drown. There’s a rotating arm that pushes them under, no chance for them to get out. I’m not sure if they burn to death before they drown, but it takes them a couple of minutes to stop thrashing.”

“Hogs get stressed out pretty easy. If you prod them too much they have heart attacks. If you get a hog in a chute that’s had the shit prodded out of him and has a heart attack or refuses to move, you take a meat hook and hook it into his bunghole [anus]. You’re dragging these hogs alive, and a lot of times the meat hook rips out of the bunghole. I’ve seen hams – thighs – completely ripped open. I’ve also seen intestines come out. If the hog collapses near the front of the chute, you shove the meat hook into his cheek and drag him forward.”

“Sometimes I grab it [a hog] by the ear and stick it right through the eye. I’m not just taking its eye out, I’ll go all the way to the hilt, right up through the brain, and wiggle the knife.”

“Pigs on the kill floor have come up and nuzzled me like a puppy. Two minutes later I had to kill them – beat them to death with a pipe.”

“Only you don’t just kill it, you go in hard, push hard, blow the windpipe, make it drown in its own blood. Split its nose. A live hog would be running around the pit. It would just be looking up at me and I’d be sticking, and I would just take my knife and – cut its eye out while it was just standing there. And this hog would just scream.”

“I seen guys take broomsticks and stick it up the cow’s behind, screwing them with a broom.”

“He’ll kick them [hogs], fork them, use anything he can get his hands on. He’s already broken three pitchforks so far this year, just jabbing them. He doesn’t care if he hits its eyes, head, butt. He jabs them so hard he busts the wooden handles. And he clubs them over the back.”

“I’ve drug cows till their bones start breaking, while they were still alive. Bringing them around the corner and they get stuck up in the doorway, just pull them till their hide be ripped, till the blood just drip on the steel and concrete. Breaking their legs… And the cow be crying with its tongue stuck out. They pull him till his neck just pop.”

If you’ve already stopped eating animals, I hope these stories motivate you to work even harder and smarter for the cause of animal rights. If it’s painful to read and watch, imagine how it feels to the animals. Please consider volunteering.

If you eat animals, I hope these stories persuade you to live a more compassionate life that respects animals’ rights to live freely in their natural habitats. Food should not make you cry, scream, or look away in disbelief. I hope the looks of horror on these people’s faces remain with you as you decide what to eat from this day forward. These atrocities happen because you buy the remains of animals to eat. You don’t need to eat animals to survive. It’s a choice. Please choose kindness.

Why are these people crying? They learned the truth about the food they eat.

41 thoughts on “Why Are These People Crying?

  1. Andrew – can a book be made with tales from the slaughter house? Are these people who told these horror crimes still working in slaughter houses or are they whistle blowers? Can you get on Ellen DeGeneres with this? Thank you for all you do. I couldn’t read but a little and I have to lie down now as I’m quite nauseated by the little I did read….thank you again.

      1. I wish we could educate at the school level. Children are much more compassionate, and if they refuse to eat animals, and they have support, we could be so many more vegans in the world.

  2. I just cannot fathom the type of being that is able to cause so much pain and suffering to another ~ and then they even boast about it as though they are so proud of inflicting so much terror and harm. It makes me wonder what could have caused them to become these cruel unfeeling low life pieces of trash. These defenseless animals deserve so much more. There has to be a way to get film clips of this abuse on TV the way they do with commercials so that people could see it. If people see often, if always confronted with the violence and suffering that is in their plate I think they would stop eating meat or at least demand that these monsters (and the companies they work for) who inflict such pain receive a real consequential punishment. Unfortunately the people who care about animal rights know ~ we hear the stories and see the graphics so often that these images disturb our sleep ~ but the general public is still quite unaware. They see or hear random stories but it’s just not enough to sink into their souls and they are able to turn a blind eye. So very sad and I pray that I may see a time when this barbaric torture no longer exists….

    1. I agree with you 😦 I am so sad. Most people don’t care because they are comfortable in their own little bubbles of oblivion. If you talk to them about it, most of them say “I respect your choices, but it is my right to eat meat”

  3. I couldn’t continue reading these stories, I feel physically ill, horrified. Who are the people that not only think that this is ok, but carry out these actions daily? No amount of Money (pay check) can make this acceptable, normal, right, justified. Imagine the soul of those preforming these torture’s. Consumers need to stop the demand for these tortures to continue.

  4. i can’t eat animals anymore… i’m DONE! i don’t like what people are doing to them… most of them… don’t belive me? try me.

  5. I came across your website through PETA and found it extremely knowledgeable. Could I possibly translate some of your articles into Japanese and help your words spread further?? Thank you in acvance!

  6. Aside from a few men smirking, the photos say it ALL… especially the last one… that little girl is HORRIFIED as all people should be. It is time the madness ended… at this point I don’t care how it ends… I just want it to.

    1. Me too. I often think that the only way the madness can end is if the world does. people just don’t care. these images need to be broadcast on tv, made public, and meat eaters should be ostracized, not have their feelings protected. they should be made to feel like monsters if they continue to eat meat after the they see the horrors. it has to be harsh, because no matter how harsh we treat them, it NOTHING compared to what the animals have to go through.

        1. Exactly vegangster!! I agree 100% hold them unaccountable. Make them suffer the consequences. The best one ever is the “but God said we can eat animals” and also, “no don’t tell me don’t show me, I don’t want to know” and “omg, I’m eating! How can you talk about pus in milk?” I want to scream!

  7. I hope these monsters that do this are locked up for good. This is unbelievable that humans will allow people like this to walk the streets with us. God, I pray, or something. This is unbelievably wrong. There are no words. I hope, somehow, these scumbags get the same feelings from all that they have given, a hundred times back. So be it.

  8. One of these photos is particularly alarming: Two women are horrified with the universal reaction of hand over mouth, while the two men are smiling/laughing at what they see. Insane.

  9. THE SOLE REASON, THE ONLY REASON I am veggie is because of factory farms. It is cruel, disgusting, and people need to know. They NEED TO KNOW. It’s sickening. . . I share as many of these disgusting videos as I can because people need to know.

  10. This is why I only buy meat at whole foods. Their 5 step program insures humane treatment of livestock from birth to death

    1. your a fool if you think this insures humane treatment , killing an animal by cutting its throat is not humane and never will be

  11. I believe this abusive behaviour towards animals in slaughterhouses and factory farms is part of the culture. In the UK animal welfare societies are campaigning to make cctv mandatory in slaughterhouses. I think it should also be used in factory farms. These people have become brutalised and farm animals need to be protected from them. I’m reminded of abuse in care homes where people take delight in causing suffering to the weak and helpless. Not a great part of our psyche but something that we need to try and control due to the large amount of suffering it causes. I’m disappointed at the fact that some US states are trying to introduce so called ‘ag-gag’ bills to prevent undercover filming on farms and in slaughterhouses. This is basically the animals’ only chance of protection as it seems the industry cannot or will not protect the animals itself. A very sad state of affairs.

  12. when will it stop? when will it ever stop? people don’t care. we are only a few who do. It makes me ashamed to be a part of the human race. animals should be rewarded just for not being human

    1. Hi Ronel,

      I don’t think it will ever stop anymore than I think crime will ever stop. There will always be people killing animals in the world. We can, however, significantly reduce the number of animals killed. I encourage you to become an animal activist if you aren’t already and inspire as many people as you can to join you. The more we do, the more animals we will save.

  13. I am vegan. I love animals. I think it’s important to know and spread awareness of issues like this…. BUT!!! I used to live on Lincoln Road where the vegan group leaves the television on the street with horrific, nightmarish scenes of violence against animals while CHILDREN ARE WALKING AROUND! I don’t like it at all. I don’t think children or people of any age should be subjected to the horrors of what happens inside a slaughterhouse just right on the street like that… I’m all for raising awareness, but it’s wrong to just spring it on people.

  14. Oh yeah sure, lets just all live in oblivion, and please spare the children and those with delicate constitutions. Lets just take all the humans (and their rights) into consideration while billions of animals are tortured and brutally murdered each year. Yes, please lets not pretend the animals have a right to life, a right to be safe and loved, a right to protect their children, just like we do. Please lets all shelter our human children while the animals’ children are abused beyond belief, then taken away from their children end up on our children’s’ plates. and guess what? The children all grow up to support the horror. Why? because their delicate constitutions would not allow for the truth. Its no point in showing flowery pics of cute animals. A meat eater would look at a cute little pig or calf and go awwww while snacking on a bacon and egg burger. Thats the reality. People are oblivious and apathetic. They have no idea what horrors these poor animals have to endure. They need to be shocked into reality. In my country, all the meat eaters are up in arms about rhino poaching and killing, and they happily discuss this over a steak. They have NO IDEA!. I was speaking to a woman about factory farming and its cruelty, and she said she would never eat pork because of something she saw, where they hurt the pigs. Not half an hour later, she was munching on a ham sandwich. I asked her if she knew she was eating pork, and you know what she said? very sheepishly, and with a smile – “oops” Sugaring the pill aint gonna work sweetheart.

  15. Mr. Kirschner, hello. I would like to know if something has already been done regarding laws that at least minimize these animals’ suffering in the slaughterhouses. Or if there’s a way to create a petition for it. We know it is unrealistic ti think that we can stop slaughterhouses from work, but we can enforce a regulation on how those animals are killed, with the least suffering possible. Please, get in touch. Regards from Brazil.

  16. Thank you for writing this and showing the reactions, the faces say more than any words can! I also do not agree with sheltering children from the atrocities that happen in a slaughterhouse or in animal agriculture in general. They are the only hope we have for future change!

Leave a comment