The Most Important Lessons I’ve Ever Learned

  • Children yearn to be loved. Love, engage, challenge, and nurture them and they will blossom. Believe in them and they will believe in themselves.

IMAG1989

  • The only person you will ever fully know is yourself.
  • There are very few leaders in the world.
  • Find something you enjoy doing and get a job doing it.
  • Tragedy doesn’t knock.

car-crash-1200-edit

  • Don’t follow archaic, senseless, and cruel traditions or modernize them so they don’t celebrate or inflict suffering on others.

thanksgiving-family-dinner

  • “The only person who can put stress on you is you,” said my father to me when I was 18 years old.
  • To be famous is difficult; to be great is easy.
  • Living life to the fullest doesn’t mean doing everything you can for yourself before you die. It should include giving as much as you can to those less fortunate than you while you’re alive.

spring_games_frisco

  • Jealousy is a destructive emotion that interferes, ruins, and sometimes ends lives. To avoid jealousy, create balance and meaning in your life, develop your self-worth, and ground yourself in others’ realities.
  • You don’t need to eat animals to survive.
  • If you’re on a long line at the grocery store and you move to a shorter line, the longer line will move faster. If you’re on a long line at the grocery store and you stay on a long line, the shorter line will move faster and you will wonder why you didn’t move to the shorter line. Never trust your instincts in the grocery store.

PeopleWaitingInLineWithShoppingBaskets

  • Expectations ruin everything.
  • We can’t make the world perfect but we can make it a lot better if we try.
  • The greatest state of being is the absence of physical and emotional pain. Only when we are in these states — when we receive news of the tragic death of a family member or friend or have kidney stones, for example, do we tend to appreciate our normal state of being. That’s human nature. The key to living a grounded life is to realize that when you suffer severe physical and emotional pain, you will give anything to be back complaining about standing in a long line or sitting in traffic. Try to remember that if you’re not in severe physical or emotional pain, your life is still a lot better than most other people’s lives.

1214_newtown-woman

US-SHOOTING-INCIDENT-SCHOOL

school-bus-newtown_2431660b

  • Good listening skills are rare which is probably why people value them so much.
  • Just because people are family doesn’t mean you must maintain a relationship with them.
  • When you focus on helping others, you will feel grateful, fulfilled, and grounded. When you focus on yourself, you will often feel quite the opposite.
  • Your right to life is no more deserving of respect than the life of any animal.

534383_3731191003037_1379000627_n

  • Don’t rely on school for an education.
  • If you’re willing to communicate, you can solve a lot of problems.
  • How you say something is often as important as what you say.
  • Believe in your ability to accomplish your goals. When I was much younger, I told my father I wanted to apply for a job but that I didn’t believe I could do it. He asked, “Why not?” I couldn’t answer him. Since that day, when people tell me they can’t do something, I always ask, “Why not?”

I hope these lessons serve you well. Please share the most valuable lessons you’ve learned by commenting on the thread below. I look forward to reading your thoughts.

Andrew Kirschner, Ed.D., is a volunteer grassroots animal rights advocate and the organizer of the 2013 Florida March Against Cruelty to Animals. He writes a zero-profit blog, Kirschner’s Korner, to help raise awareness about issues affecting the global community to make the world a more humane place. To receive Dr. Kirschner’s new articles via email, enter your email in the “Follow Blog Via Email” link at the top right of the blog.

This entry was posted in On My Mind. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to The Most Important Lessons I’ve Ever Learned

  1. Leah Jacobson says:

    Nice!!

  2. Dina Lauman says:

    Wonderful words of compassion and wisdom!
    Thank you! One question…why is there an ad
    for taco bell at the end of this posting? I thought this was in support of animal advocacy and healthy eating.

    • Hi Dina,

      Thank you for your kind feedback and important question.

      I don’t place any ads on the site. As a result, I don’t have to pay for the site nor do I make any money from it. WordPress, the host of the site, reserves the right to place random ads on the site. I don’t have any control over the ads they place. I hope that answers your question.

      • Dina Lauman says:

        Thank you, Andrew. That makes perfect sense. I appreciate
        Your quick response and all you do on behalf of a better world! For the animals, the earth and we humans!!!

  3. Anna guizar says:

    I believe that I was born on the day I stopped flirting with vegan ism and actually became a vegan in all areas of my life. I abandoned leather shoes, purses and belts.

    Never afraid tone the voice of the silent.

  4. Joanne Anand says:

    This is all so very true and so very wise. Enjoyed reading it and please keep up the great work Andrew, you are an inspiration to many.

  5. Rebecca Stucki says:

    Excellent points which I will commit to memory. Thank you.

  6. Amrit Michelle Singh says:

    Thank you for this, Andrew. Thank you for your gift of words.

Leave a Reply

