My Best Pizza Ever — And It’s Vegan!

I recently started taking vegan cooking classes so expect an exponential jump in the quality of my recipes! This pizza is loosely based on a recipe from the Engine 2 Diet. I’ve changed it a bit to accommodate my obsession with garlic, pesto, and beans! It’s the best tasting pizza I’ve ever made. I hope you enjoy it.

Let’s make the pesto sauce first! I don’t use any oils or cheese. If you use oil, please read about how oils turn rancid when you heat them making them even less healthy than bad oils. Many people have no idea and heat flaxseed oil, olive oil, and other popular oils! I don’t buy refined oil. I get my oils naturally from vegetables like avocados and olives in their original state.

This recipe serves 2-4 people unless you are eating it with me. It makes 8 slices. I can eat six slices and then the other two an hour later. Normal people without a pizza obsession will probably eat two slices.

Preheat the oven at 400 degrees.

*I buy a sprouted pizza crust from Whole Foods. You can find them in the frozen section of most grocery stores.

Pesto Sauce Ingredients
3 cloves of garlic
3 tablespoons of fresh lemon juice
3 tablespoons of nutritional yeast
1 15 oz. can of canelli beans (protein!)
1 cup of super tightly packed fresh basil leaves (yum!)

Put the pesto sauce ingredients in a food processor and blend them. Spread onto the frozen pizza crust. Are you getting hungry?

Pizza Topping Ingredients
Sprouted pizza crust (of course or you will just be eating a salad!)
1/2 sliced red bell pepper
1/2 sliced red onion
1 cup chopped spinach
1/2 cup chopped basil
5 chopped cloves garlic
3 chopped Roma tomatoes
1/2 cup depitted chopped Kalamata olives
1/2 cup chopped artichoke hearts

Mix all these ingredients in a bowl and spread on the pizza.

Put it in the oven for 10-15 minutes or until it reaches desired crispness. Use a baking sheet. Serve. Love life!

Here is a picture of one I made but with the veggies chopped more finely!

As you take each bite, find additional comfort knowing that no animals suffered or were killed in a factory farm to make your food. That realization always makes my food taste even better!

Andrew Kirschner, Ed.D., is a grassroots vegan animal rights activist and radio talk show host. He also writes a zero-profit blog, Kirschner’s Korner, to help raise awareness about issues affecting the global community to make the world a more humane place. To receive new articles via email, enter your email in the “Follow Blog Via Email” link at the top right of the blog.

This entry was posted in Pizza and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Best Pizza Ever — And It’s Vegan!

  1. Lin Pirretti says:

    Sounds delish! I’ll give it a try.

    • CONNIE says:

      I will make your pesto … and i quick fry veggies with olive oil. Uh oh! Will try a dry fry I guess. I do a lot of purchased pesto on paninis. I love sandwiches with sweet potato fries!

  2. vipgirl126 says:

    I have to try this!! Yummy’licious!!! All my favorites!

  3. It’s not my first time to go to see this web page, i am visiting this website dailly and get good facts from here every day.

Leave a Reply

